Day 11 – A song from your favorite band

Garbage will always be that special favorite band for me. It is one of the female-fronted bands that made me get over my Spice Girls phase after realizing that girl rockers personify “Girl Power” more than the pop girl group.

Photo credit

I remember having the above photo as my binder cover back in  college. Haha! Yes, I loved them that much. And what makes Garbage more special? Shirley Manson — my favorite rocker girl.

Photo credit

With her piercing green eyes and fierce red hair (which she cut real short and dyed blond too)  and edgy, rebellious style in short dresses, boots and smoky eye makeup, she looks every inch a model or a celebrity than a rock band frontwoman. Well, she did model for Calvin Klein and she eventually starred in the TV series Terminator: The Sarah Connor Chronicles.

But when she sings with that voice which one of her bandmates describes as “sometimes scary, sometimes dreamy, sometimes sexy, sometimes psychotic” she transforms to every inch the rock star that she is. And with the musical talents of Butch Vig, Steve Marker and Duke Erikson (Yay, I still remember their names all after all these years!) listening to Garbage is always a rocking treat for me. If I wrote this post a year or two ago, I would have been proud to add that I have a collection of all their albums saved in my computer. Unfortunately, after Chuck’s near-death experience, I transferred all my files to the now-defunct desktop computer and haven’t rebuilt my collection again. Old favorites may be lost but they are never forgotten.

And here are two of my early favorites from Garbage: Stupid Girl and Only Happy When It Rains. Yes, two because I’m torn between which song/video to post. Haha!

9 thoughts on “Day 11 – A song from your favorite band

  1. die hard fan ever! go bru..the reason why you like Shirley is because of her last name..asawa tingali ni Marilyn MAnson? hahah. **tickles** miss you. love ‘I’m only happy when it rains’ than Stupid Girl.=)

  2. Pingback: 30 Day Song Challenge « chuck and dee

  3. and wordpress indulges you with this one atty! hahaha! i really wonder if all redheads have green eyes. hmmm. *btw, are sheryl & marilyn manson related?*

  4. I wonder too. And no, they’re not related (thankfully). Haha. Marilyn Manson is Brian Warner’s stage name which he got from Marilyn Monroe and Charles Manson.

Leave a Reply

