Day 8 – A song that you know all the words to

Here’s a quick Dee fact: When I love/like a song, obsess over one, hear one that sparks my interest, or can’t take one off my head, I  have to know its lyrics. And sometimes, when I need a quick break from memorizing stuff for class, I memorize a song instead. That way, I can still get my memory to work, in a fun way. Yeah, I’m a geek like that.

Before the days of Google and back in the days of cassette tapes, looking for lyrics was a bit of a challenge since not all cassette covers came with lyrics and those song hits which were so sikat those days didn’t have reliable lyrics.  I remember feeling a bit disappointed when dear father bought my sister and I Smash Mouth’s album Fush Yu Mang (tapes were our favorite pasalubong back then whenever he traveled) and it didn’t have lyrics to their songs, especially Walkin’ on the Sun which I absolutely loved.  When CDs came out, knowing the lyrics became easier.  My first CD was the Spice Girls’ album and I memorized every song in the album. LOL. Now in the time of Google, finding lyrics are a breeze. I usually go to  LyricsMode for my lyrics fix.

There are other songs though that I surprisingly know all the words to because of my parents. Before I developed my own preferences for music, songs from bands they liked — CSNY, Air Supply, Queen, Pink Floyd, Bee Gees — got played a lot so I guess by listening often to them, I unconsciously learned the words to the songs. It’s funny how an old song plays and I find myself singing along to it, wondering how I knew the words to it.

So for my song for Day 8, here’s an old song I used to hear a lot during my childhood (I have another special song from my childhood for Day 29) that I know all the words to. Queen’s Bohemian Rhapsody.

Photo credit

Thanks dear Tatay for introducing me to Queen and Freddie Mercury!

11 thoughts on “Day 8 – A song that you know all the words to

  1. Pingback: 30 Day Song Challenge « chuck and dee

    • Long song gyud, but it’s always fun listening to it! My favorite part is when they go “I see a little silhouetto of a man, Scaramouche, scaramouche will you do the fandango? Thunderbolt and lightning – very very frightening me. Gallileo, Gallileo, Gallileo, Gallileo,
      Gallileo Figaro – magnifico.” LOL.

  2. amazing. you really know all the words of this song atty?! it’s not that i don’t trust you. it’s just that i find this song very very tough (to memorize), hehe. i remember my bespren – she’s undergone a queen/freddie mercury phase but i din’t bother to ask if she tried to memorize their songs. i’m not sure if she’s overcome it already. haha.

    • Haha! I guess all those years did well for my memory. I don’t get to listen to this song a lot now, but during times that I do, I always find myself singing along to it and I don’t know how I remember those words either. LOL.

    • Was it for an org or fraternity/sorority? I have some friends from school too telling me their “masters” and “ladies” make them memorize a whole lot of stuff. Hehe.

  3. wow. bohemian rhapsody is tough to memorize. i seriously thought the title of this song before was mama mia mama mia. hahahha. it was also played a lot during my childhood. my father was a big fan of queen and owned cd’s of all their albums even when compact disc just started coming out.

Leave a Reply

