Day 4 – A song that makes you sad

The Freshmen by The Verve Pipe, although one of my old favorites, is one of the saddest songs for me. I love the wistfulness in the tune and I sometimes find myself singing the chorus. But every time I listen to the song, it makes me wish the baby’s breath didn’t stop, the best friend never took a week’s vacation to forget her and the girl never took a week’s worth of valium and slept. ;-( Sad, huh?

For the life of me I cannot remember

What made us think that we were wise and

We’d never compromise

For the life of me I cannot believe

We’d ever die for these sins

We were merely freshmen

7 thoughts on “Day 4 – A song that makes you sad

  1. Pingback: 30 Day Song Challenge « chuck and dee

  2. omg! twin powers at work… i was considering this as an entry on the following days… now i have to go browse my music files for an alternate… like you, i dig the tune!

  3. this song intrigued us too. reeking with melancholy and guilt but the idea that the persona feels sorry about the whole thing is somewhat redeeming. one of the bests there is…

Leave a Reply

